• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Federative Republic of Brazil

República Federativa do Brasil

Political Status: Independent monarchy proclaimed 1822; republic established 1889; current constitution promulgated October 5, 1988.

Area: 3,286,470 sq. mi. (8,511,965 sq. km).

Population: 210,868,000 (2018E—World Bank); 208,846,892 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—Census [city only, excludes metropolitan area]): BRASILIA (3,039,444), São Paulo (12,106,920), Rio de Janeiro (6,520,266), Belo Horizonte (2,523,794), Fortaleza (2,627,482), Recife (1,633,697), Salvador (2,953,986), Pôrto Alegre (1,484,941), Curtiba (1,908,359), Belém (1,452,275), Manaus (2,130,264).

Official Language: Portuguese.

Monetary Unit: Real (market rate October 19, 2018: 3.69 reals = $1US).

President: Michel TEMER Lulia (Party of the Brazilian Democratic Movement); became acting president on May 12, 2016, after his predecessor, Dilma ROUSSEFF (Workers’ Party), was suspended to face impeachment proceedings; inaugurated for the remainder of Rousseff’s term on August 31, after she was removed from ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles