• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Kingdom of Belgium

Koninkrijk België (Dutch)

Royaume de Belgique (French)

Königreich Belgien (German)

Political Status: Independence proclaimed October 4, 1830; monarchical constitution of 1831 most recently revised in 1970.

Area: 11,781 sq. mi. (30,513 sq. km).

Population: 11,481,000 (2018E—World Bank); 11, 570,762 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—UN): BRUSSELS (2,090,000), Antwerp (1,200,000), Ghent (231,493), Charleroi (200,132), Liège (182,597), Bruges (116,709), Namur (106,284).

Official Languages: Dutch, French, German.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 19, 2018: 0.87 euro = $1US).

Sovereign: King PHILIPPE; ascended the throne on July 21, 2013, following the abdication of his father, King ALBERT II.

Heir to the Throne: Princess ELISABETH, daughter of the king.

Prime Minister: Charles Michel (Socialist); appointed by the king on October 7, 2014, and sworn in on October 10, 2014, to succeed Elio Di Rupo, following the May 25, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles