• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Commonwealth of Australia

Political Status: Established as a federal state under democratic parliamentary regime in 1901.

Area: 2,966,136 sq. mi. (7,682,300 sq. km).

Population: 24,762,000 (2018E—World Bank); 23,470,145 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (metropolitan area, 2016E—UN): CANBERRA (423,000, 2015E), Sydney (4,540,000), Melbourne (4,258,000), Brisbane (2,238,000), Adelaide (1,265,000), Perth (1,896,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Australian Dollar (market rate October 19, 2018: 1.40 dollar = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Gen. (Ret.) Peter COSGROVE; sworn into office March 28, 2015, replacing Quentin BRYCE; formerly governor of Queensland.

Prime Minister: Scott Morrison (Liberal Party of Australia); sworn in on August 24, 2018, succeeding Malcolm TURNBULL (Liberal Party of Australia), who resigned that day.

The Country

Lying in the Southern Hemisphere between the Pacific and Indian oceans, Australia derives its name from the Latin australis (southern). A ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles