• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Kingdom of Bahrain
al-Mamlakah al-Bahrayn

Note: Parliamentary elections were held on November 22, 2014, and run-off elections were held on November 29. Pro-government Sunni candidates won a clear majority with 26 seats. Despite a boycott by the main opposition group al-Wifaq, independent Shiite candidates won 13 seats.

Political Status: Independent emirate proclaimed August 15, 1971; constitution adopted December 6, 1973; constitutional monarchy established on February 14, 2002, under constitutional amendment decreed by the emir in purported accordance with National Action Charter endorsed by national referendum on February 14–15, 2001.

Area: 258 sq. mi. (668 sq. km).

Population: 1,337,226 (2014E—UN); 1,314,089 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2011E—UN): MANAMA (262,000).

Official Language: Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Bahraini Dinar (official rate October 1, 2014: 0.38 dinar = $1US).

Sovereign: King Sheikh Hamad bin Isa Al KHALIFA, descendant of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles