• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Azerbaijan Republic
Azerbaycan Respublikasy

Political Status: Azerbaijan Republic established under Turkish auspices in May 1918; joined the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) as part of the Transcaucasian Soviet Federated Republic on December 30, 1922; became separate USSR Republic on December 5, 1936; independence declared August 30, 1991, by the Azerbaijani Supreme Soviet and confirmed by that body on October 18; new constitution providing for a strong presidential system adopted by national referendum on November 12, 1995, and entered into force November 27.

Area: 33,436 sq. mi. (86,600 sq. km).

Population: 9,753,560 (2014E—UN); 9,686,210 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2010E): BAKU (2,078,485).

Official Language: Azerbaijani (Azeri).

Monetary Unit: Azerbaijani New Manat (official rate October 1, 2014: 0.78 manat = $1US). The new manat, equivalent to 5,000 old manats, was introduced in January ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles