• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Commonwealth of Australia

Political Status: Established as a federal state under democratic parliamentary regime in 1901.

Area: 2,966,136 sq. mi. (7,682,300 sq. km).

Population: 23,454,989 (2013E UN); 22,507, 617 (2014E U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (including suburbs, 2011E): CANBERRA (367,800), Sydney (4,610,000), Melbourne (4,170,000), Brisbane (2,150,000), Adelaide (1,260,000), Perth (1,830,000), Hobart (217,525), Darwin (129,100).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Australian Dollar (market rate October 1, 2014: 1.15 dollar = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Quentin BRYCE; formerly governor of Queensland; sworn into office September 5, 2008, replacing Maj. Gen. Michael JEFFERY.

Prime Minister: Anthony John (Tony) ABBOTT (Liberal Party of Australia), sworn in on September 18, 2013, succeeding Kevin Michael RUDD (Australian Labor Party) who was sworn in on June 27, replacing Julia Eileen GILLARD (Australian Labor Party), who was sworn ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles