• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Armenia
Hayastani Hanrapetoutioun

Political Status: Armenian Republic established on November 29, 1920; joined the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) as part of the Transcaucasian Soviet Socialist Republic on December 30, 1922; became a constituent republic of the USSR on December 5, 1936; independence declared by the Armenian Supreme Soviet September 23, 1991, following national referendum of September 21; mixed presidential–parliamentary system established by a new constitution in 1995.

Area: 11,506 sq. mi. (29,800 sq. km).

Population: 3,198,806 (2012E—UN); 3,060,927 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2009E): YEREVAN (1,116,648), Gyumri (formerly Leninakan, 146,355).

Official Language: Armenian.

Monetary Unit: Dram (market rate October 1, 2014: 407.58 drams = $1US).

President: Serzh SARKISIAN (SARGSYAN; Republican Party of Armenia); directly elected in first-round balloting on February 19, 2008, and inaugurated for a five-year term on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles