• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Angola
República de Angola

Political Status: Formally independent upon departure of the Portuguese High Commissioner on November 10, 1975; government of the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) recognized by the Organization of African Unity on February 11, 1976; peace accord signed with rebel National Union for the Total Independence of Angola on June 1, 1991; multiparty democratic system approved by constitutional amendment on August 26, 1992; new constitution promulgated on February 2010 provides for mixed presidential-parliamentary system.

Area: 481,351 sq. mi. (1,246,700 sq. km).

Population: 22,166,000 (2014E—UN); 19,088,106 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2011E—UN): LUANDA (urban area, 1,822,407).

Official Language: Portuguese (although most Angolans speak tribal languages).

Monetary Unit: Kwanza (market rate October 1, 2014: 98.32 kwanzas = $1US).

President: José Eduardo DOS SANTOS (Popular Movement for ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles