• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Zambia

Political Status: Independent republic within the Commonwealth since October 24, 1964; under one-party, presidential-parliamentary system from 1972 to adoption of multiparty constitution on August 29, 1991.

Area: 290,584 sq. mi. (752,614 sq. km).

Population: 15,059,400 (2014E—UN); 14,638,505 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2011E): LUSAKA (metropolitan area, 1,802,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Kwacha (official rate November 1, 2013: 5.50 kwachas = $1US). On January 1, 2013, the Zambian kwacha was revalued, with 1 new kwacha equal to 1,000 of the old kwachas.

President (acting): Guy SCOTT (Patriotic Front); former vice president, became acting president after the death of Michael SATA (Patriotic Front) on October 28; Sata was popularly elected on September 20, 2011, and inaugurated for a five-year term on September 23, succeeding Rupiah BANDA (Movement for Multiparty Democracy).

Vice ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles