• Country
  • Countries A-Z
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy, under democratic parliamentary regime.

Area: 94,249 sq. mi. (244,104 sq. km), embracing England and Wales, 58,382 sq. mi. (151,209 sq. km); Scotland, 30,415 sq. mi. (78,775 sq. km); Northern Ireland, 5,452 sq. mi. (14,120 sq. km).

Population: 63,604,334 (2014E—UN); 63,742,977 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011E): England: LONDON (urban area, 9,787,000), Birmingham (1,085,000), Liverpool (552,000), Leeds (475,000), Sheffield (518,000), Bristol (536,000), Manchester (511,000); Wales: CARDIFF (335,000); Scotland: EDINBURGH (459,000), Glasgow (590,000); Northern Ireland: BELFAST (281,000).

Principal Language: English (Scottish and Irish forms of Gaelic are spoken in portions of Scotland and Northern Ireland, respectively, while Welsh is spoken in northern and central Wales).

Monetary Unit: Pound Sterling (market rate October 1, 2014: 0.62 pound = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II; ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles