• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since August 31, 1962; republican constitution adopted August 1, 1976.

Area: 1,980 sq. mi. (5,128 sq. km), of which Trinidad encompasses 1,864 sq. mi. (4,828 sq. km) and Tobago 116 sq. mi. (300 sq. km).

Population: 1,342,936 (2014E—UN); 1,223,916 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2011E): PORT-OF-SPAIN (66,000).

Official Language: English. On September 1, 2005, the government announced that Spanish would be adopted as an official language by 2020 to permit Trinidadians to compete more effectively in regional markets.

Monetary Unit: Trinidadian Dollar (market rate October 1, 2014: 6.35 dollars = $1US).

President: Anthony Thomas Aquinas CARMONA; elected by Parliament to a five-year term on February 15, 2013, and inaugurated on March 18, succeeding Dr. George Maxwell (Max) RICHARDS.

Prime Minister: Kamla ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles