• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Kingdom of Spain
Reino de España

Political Status: Formerly under a system of personal rule instituted in 1936; monarchy reestablished November 22, 1975, in accordance with the Law of Succession of July 26, 1947, as amended in 1969 and 1971; parliamentary monarchy confirmed by constitution effective December 29, 1978.

Area: 194,896 sq. mi. (504,782 sq. km).

Population: 46,366,231 (2014E—UN); 47,737,941 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Areas (2013E): MADRID (3,198,000), Barcelona (1,611,000), Valencia (792,000), Seville (698,000), Zaragoza (678,000), Málaga (561,000), Murcia (438,000).

Official Languages: Spanish and regional languages (principally Basque, Catalan, Galician, and Valencian).

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 1, 2014: 0.79 euro = $1US).

Monarch: FELIPE VI de Borbón y Grecia; enthroned as king on June 19, 2014 following the abdication of his father, JUAN CARLOS I de Borbón y Borbón, the previous ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles