• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Slovenia
Republika Slovenija

Political Status: Former constituent republic of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; independence declared June 25, 1991, on the basis of a referendum held December 23, 1990; present constitution adopted December 23, 1991.

Area: 7,818 sq. mi. (20,251 sq. km).

Population: 2,105,612 (2014E—UN); 1,988,292 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011E): LJUBLJANA (272,220), Maribor (95,171).

Official Language: Slovene.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 1, 2014: 0.79 euro = $1US). Slovenia adopted the euro as its official currency on January 1, 2007. Its former currency was the tolar.

President: Borut PAHOR (Social Democrats); elected on December 2, 2012, in the second round of presidential balloting and inaugurated on December 22; succeeding Danilo TÜRK (nonparty).

President of the Executive Council (Prime Minister): Miro CERAR (Party of Miro Cerar); nominated by the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles