• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis
Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis

Note: Both versions of the name are official, although “Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis” is preferred.

Political Status: Former British dependency; joined West Indies Associated States in 1967; independent member of the Commonwealth since September 19, 1983.

Area: 101 sq. mi. (262 sq. km), encompassing Saint Christopher (65 sq. mi.) and Nevis (36 sq. mi.).

Population: 53,000 (2011E—UN); 51,538 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2011E): BASSETERRE (13,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: East Caribbean Dollar (market rate October 1, 2014: 2.70 dollars = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Sir Edmund Wickham LAWRENCE; sworn in on January 2, 2013, succeeding Sir Cuthbert Montroville SEBASTIAN.

Prime Minister: Dr. Denzil Llewellyn DOUGLAS (St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party); sworn in on July 7, 1995, succeeding Dr. ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles