• Country
  • Countries A-Z
State of Qatar
Dawlat al-Qatar

Political Status: Traditional sheikhdom; proclaimed fully independent September 1, 1971; first permanent constitution, approved in referendum of April 29, 2003, went into effect on June 8, 2004.

Area: 4,247 sq. mi. (11,000 sq. km).

Population: 2,201,009 (2014E—UN); 2,123,160 (2014E—U.S. Census), including nonnationals, who constitute more than two-thirds of the resident population.

Major Urban Centers (2010E): DOHA (796,947) (al-Dawhah, 353,000), Rayyan (455,623).

Official Language: Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Qatar Riyal (official rate October 1, 2014: 3.64 riyals = $1US).

Sovereign (Emir): Sheik Tamim ibn Hamad AL-THANI; assumed power on June 25, 2013, upon the abdication of his father Sheikh Hamad ibn Khalifa AL-THANI, who assumed leadership on June 27, 1995.

Heir to the Throne: [Vacant].

Prime Minister: Sheikh Abdullah ibn Nasser ibn Khalifa AL-THANI, appointed by the emir on June 27, 2013, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles