• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Independent State of Papua New Guinea
Gau Hedinarai ai Papua-Matamata Guinea (Hari-Motu)
Independen Stet bilong Papua Niugini (Tok Pisin)

Note: The literal translation of Gau Hedinarai is “entity of the people,” hence the official title in Hari-Motu could be “Republic of Papua New Guinea.”

Political Status: Former Australian-administered territory; achieved internal self-government on December 1, 1973, and full independence within the Commonwealth on September 16, 1975, under constitution of August 15.

Area: 178,259 sq. mi. (461,691 sq. km).

Population: 7,345,926 (2014E—UN); 7,059,653 (2011E—PNG Census); 6,552,730 (2014—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2009E): PORT MORESBY (metropolitan area, 254,158), Lae (78,038), Mt Hagen (27,789).

Official Languages: English, Tok Pisin, Hari-Motu.

Monetary Unit: Kina (market rate October 1, 2014: 2.48 kina = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Sir Michael OGIO; elected by the National Parliament on January ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles