• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Kingdom of Morocco
al-Mamlakat al-Maghribiyah

Political Status: Independent since March 2, 1956; constitutional monarchy established in 1962; present constitution approved by referendum on July 1, 2011.

Area: 274,461 sq. mi. (710,850 sq. km), including approximately 97,343 sq. mi. (252,120 sq. km) of Western Sahara, two-thirds of which was annexed in February 1976 and the remaining one-third claimed upon Mauritanian withdrawal in August 1979.

Population: 33,492,400 (2014E—UN); 32,987,206 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011E—UN): RABAT/SALE (1,843,000), Casablanca (2,995,000), Fez (1,026,000), Marrakesh (1,126,000), and Oujda (489,000).

Official Languages: Arabic and Tamazight.

Monetary Unit: Dirham (official rate October 1, 2014: 8.78 dirhams = $1US).

Sovereign: King MOHAMED VI became king on July 23, 1999, following the death of his father, HASSAN II.

Heir to the Throne: Crown Prince MOULAY HASSAN.

Prime Minister: Abdelillah BENKIRANE (PJD), appointed on November ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles