• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Monggol Ulus

Political Status: Independent since 1921; Communist People’s Republic established November 26, 1924; multi-party system introduced by constitutional amendment of May 11, 1990; current constitution adopted January 13, 1992, in effect from February 12.

Area: 604,247 sq. mi. (1,565,000 sq. km).

Population: 2,949,462 (2014E—UN); 2,953,190 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2010C): ULAANBAATAR (Ulan Bator, 1,089,358), Erdenet (83,379), Darkhan (74,738).

Monetary Unit: Tugrik (market rate October 1, 2014: 1,835.02 tugriks = $1US).

Official Language: Khalkha Mongol.

President: Tsakhiagiyn ELBEGDORJ (Democratic Party), popularly elected for a four-year term on May 24, 2009, and sworn in on June 18, succeeding Nambaryn ENKHBAYAR (Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party); reelected on June 26, 2013.

Prime Minister (acting): Dendev TERBISHDAGYA (Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party), became prime minister on November 5, 2014 (see Current issues), after parliament dismissed Norovyn ALTANKHUYAG ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles