• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Mauritius

Note: In legislative balloting on December 10, 2014, a coalition of the Mauritian Socialist Movement, the Mauritian Social Democratic Party, and the newly formed Muvman Liberater won a majority in parliament with 47 elected seats. Party leader and former president Sir Anerood Jugnauth (Mauritian Socialist Movement) was sworn in as prime minister, along with a new cabinet, on December 14.

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy under multiparty parliamentary system established upon independence within the Commonwealth on March 12, 1968; became a republic on March 12, 1992.

Area: 790 sq. mi. (2,045 sq. km).

Population: 1,342,310 (2014E—UN); 1,331,155 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011E—UN): PORT LOUIS (148,638), Beau Bassin/Rose Hill (110,687), Vacoas-Phoenix (108,186).

Official Language: English (French is also used, while Creole is the lingua franca and Hindi the most ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles