• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of the Marshall Islands

Political Status: Sovereign state in free association with the United States (which retains authority with regard to defense) since October 21, 1986.

Area: 70 sq. mi. (181 sq. km).

Population: 53,158 (2011E—UN); 70,983 (2014E—U.S. Census). (It is estimated that more than 20,000 of the Marshellese citizens reside in the U.S. territory of Guam or elsewhere in the United States.)

Major Urban Center (2005E): DALAP-ULIGA-DARRIT (Majuro Atoll; 26,000).

Official Languages: Marshallese. English is also widely spoken.

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see the entry on United States for principal exchange rates).

President: Christopher J. LOEAK (Our Islands); elected by the House of Representatives on January 2, 2012, following the legislative elections on November 21, 2011, and inaugurated for the remainder of the House’s four-year term on January 17, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles