• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Lithuania
Lietuvos Respublika

Political Status: Independence from Russia declared February 16, 1918; absorption of independent state by the Soviet Union on August 3, 1940, repudiated on March 11, 1990, by the Lithuanian Supreme Council; independence recognized by the USSR State Council on September 6, 1991; current constitution approved by referendum of October 25, 1992.

Area: 25,174 sq. mi. (65,200 sq. km).

Population: 3,011,937 (2014E—UN); 3,505,738 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2010E): VILNIUS (557,126), Kaunas (342,768), Klaipėda (180,282), Šiauliai (123,126), Panevėžys (110,494).

Official Language: Lithuanian.

Monetary Unit: Litas (official rate October 1, 2014: 2.74 litai = $1US). The litas was pegged to the euro as of February 2, 2002. Lithuania joined the European Union in 2004, but the target date for adopting the euro was pushed back to January 2015.

President: Dalia ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles