• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Libya
al-Jumhuriyyah al-Libiyah

Political Status: Independent state since December 24, 1951; revolutionary republic declared September 1, 1969; name changed from Libyan Arab Republic to Libyan Arab People’s Republic in 1976; present name adopted March 2, 1977; interim draft constitution promulgated on August 3, 2011.

Area: 679,358 sq. mi. (1,759,540 sq. km).

Population: 6,261,800 (2014E—UN); 6,244,174 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011C): Tripoli (Tarabulus, 1,127,000), Benghazi (Banghazi, 680,000), Misurata (Misratah, 351,000), Sirte (Surt, 162,000). (The government relocated to Bayda [Beida] in June 2014 and the House of Representatives relocated to Tobruk, about 700 miles east of Tripoli near the border with Egypt in August 2014.)

Official Language: Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Dinar (official rate October 1, 2014: 1.21 dinar = $1US).

Prime Minister: Abdullah Al-THANI (disputed), elected on March 11, 2014 (resigned after ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles