• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Latvia
Latvijas Republika

Political Status: Absorption of independent state by the Soviet Union on August 5, 1940, repudiated by the Latvian Supreme Council on May 4, 1990; resumption of full sovereignty declared August 21, 1991, and accepted by USSR State Council on September 6.

Area: 24,938 sq. mi. (64,589 sq. km).

Population: 2,026,085 (2014E—UN); 2,165,165 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2013E): RIGA (644,000), Daugavpils (89,000), Liepaja (73,000).

Official Language: Latvian.

Monetary Unit: Euro (official rate October 1, 2014: 0.79 euro = $1US). Following its accession to the European Union in 2004, Latvia adopted the euro as its national currency on January 1, 2014.

President: Andris BĒRZIŅŠ (nonparty); elected by the Saeima on June 2, 2011, and sworn in for a four-year term on July 10, 2011, succeeding Vladis ZATLERS (nonparty).

Prime Minister: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles