• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Iceland
Lyðveldið Ísland

Political Status: Independent republic established June 17, 1944, when present constitution was adopted, under democratic parliamentary system. Constitution last amended on June 24, 1999.

Area: 39,768 sq. mi. (103,000 sq. km).

Population: 321,631 (2014E—UN); 317,351 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2010E): REYKJAVÍK (118,488).

Official Language: Icelandic.

Monetary Unit: Króna (market rate October 1, 2014: 120.85 krónur = $1US).

President: Dr. Ólafur Ragnar GRÍMSSON (previously People’s Alliance); elected on June 29, 1996, and inaugurated on August 1 for a four-year term, succeeding Vigdís FINNBOGADÓTTIR (nonparty); ran unopposed in June 2000; reelected on June 26, 2004; ran unopposed in June 2008; reelected with 52.78 percent of the vote, defeating five other candidates, on June 30, 2012; inaugurated for an unprecedented fifth four-year term on August 1.

Prime Minister: Sigmunder Davið GUNNLAUGSSON ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles