• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Cooperative Republic of Guyana

Political Status: Formerly the colony of British Guiana; independent member of the Commonwealth since May 26, 1966; under republican regime instituted February 23, 1970; present constitution approved February 11, 1980, with effect from October 6.

Area: 83,000 sq. mi. (214,969 sq. km).

Population: 803,116 (2014E—UN); 735,554 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (metropolitan area, 2011E): GEORGETOWN (127,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Guyanese Dollar (market rate October 1, 2014: 203.22 dollars = $1US).

President: Donald RAMOTAR (People’s Progressive Party/Civic); sworn in December 3, 2011, to succeed Bharrat JAGDEO (People’s Progressive Party/ Civic), who had been in office since August 11, 1999.

Prime Minister: Samuel A. (Sam) HINDS (Civic); sworn in December 19, 1997, succeeding Janet JAGAN (People’s Progressive Party); reappointed by the president on August 11, 1999; April 4, 2001; ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles