• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Guinea
République de Guinée

Political Status: Independent republic since October 2, 1958; under one-party presidential regime until military coup of April 3, 1984; multiparty constitution approved by referendum of December 23, 1990, providing for five-year transition to civilian government; constitution suspended following military coup of December 23, 2008; constitutional order restored following Supreme Court ratification of presidential election results in December 2010.

Area: 94,925 sq. mi. (245,857 sq. km).

Population: 12,053,600 (2014E—UN); 11,474,383 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2011E): CONAKRY (1,786,000).

Official Language: French, pending adoption of Soussou or Malinké. (Six other languages are also spoken.)

Monetary Unit: Guinean Franc (market rate October 1, 2014: 7020.99 francs = $1US).

President: Alpha CONDÉ (Rally of the Guinean People), elected after multiparty balloting on June 27 and November 7, 2010, and sworn in ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles