• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Hellenic Republic
Elliniki Dimokratia

Note: After parliament failed in three rounds of balloting to elect a new president in December 2014, Prime Minister Antonis Samaras (Democratic Renewal) called for new parliamentary elections on January 25, 2015, in accordance with the constitution. The Coalition of the Radical Left, led by Alexios (Alexis) Tsipras, won the balloting with 149 seats, followed by Democratic Renewal, led by incumbent Prime Minister Antonios Samaras, with 76 seats. Tsipras was named prime minister on January 26 of a coalition government with the far-right, anti-austerity Independent Greeks, who secured 13 seats.

Political Status: Gained independence from the Ottoman Empire in 1830; military rule imposed following coup of April 21, 1967; civilian control reinstituted July 23, 1974; present republican constitution promulgated June 11, 1975.

Area: 50,944 sq. ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles