• Country
  • Countries A-Z
French Republic
République Française

Political Status: Republic under mixed parliamentary-presidential system established by constitution adopted by referendum of September 28, 1958, and instituted on October 4.

Area: 211,207 sq. mi. (547,026 sq. km).

Population: 66,033,000 (2014—C); 66,259,012 (2014E—U.S. Census). Area and population figures are for metropolitan France (including Corsica); for overseas departments and other dependent jurisdictions, see Related Territories, below.

Major Urban Centers (2009E): PARIS (2,234,105), Marseille (850,602), Lyon (479,803), Toulouse (440,204), Nice (340,735), Nantes (282,847), Strasbourg (271,708), Montpellier (255,080), Bordeaux (236,725), Lille (226,827), Rennes (206,604), Reims (180,842), Le Havre (177,259), Saint-Étienne (171,961).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 1, 2014: 0.79 euro = $1US).

President: François HOLLANDE (Socialist Party); elected for a five-year term in runoff balloting on May 6, 2012, and inaugurated May 15, succeeding Nicolas SARKOZY (Union ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles