• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Finland
Suomen Tasavalta (Finnish)
Republiken Finland (Swedish)

Political Status: Independent since December 6, 1917; republic established July 17, 1919, under presidential-parliamentary system.

Area: 130,119 sq. mi. (337,009 sq. km).

Population: 5,429,477 (2014—UN); 5,268,799 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2013E): HELSINKI (604,000), Espoo (257,000), Tampere (217,000), Oulu (191,000).

Official Languages: Finnish, Swedish.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 1, 2014: 0.79 euro = $1US).

President: Sauli NIINISTÖ (Kok); elected in second-round balloting on February 5, 2012, and inaugurated for a six-year term on March 1, 2012, succeeding Tarja HALONEN (Finnish Social Democratic Party).

Prime Minister: Jyrki KATAINEN (Kok); approved by the legislature and sworn in on June 22, 2011, as the leader of a six-party coalition government to replace Mari KIVINIEMI (Finish Center), following legislative elections on April 17, 2011.

The Country

A land of rivers, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles