• Country
  • Countries A-Z
República Dominicana

Political Status: Independent republic established in 1844; under constitutional regime reestablished July 1, 1966.

Area: 18,816 sq. mi. (48,734 sq. km).

Population: 10,519,004 (2014E—UN); 10,349,741 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011E): SANTO DOMINGO (1,126,306), Santiago de los Caballeros (757,933).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Dominican Peso (market rate October 1, 2014: 43.46 pesos = $1US).

President: Danilo MEDINA Sanchez (Dominican Liberation Party); elected on May 20, 2012, and inaugurated on August 16 for a four-year term, succeeding Leonel Antonio FERNÁNDEZ Reyna (Dominican Liberation Party).

Vice President: Margarita CEDENO DE FERNANDEZ (Dominican Liberation Party); elected on May 20, 2012, and inaugurated with the president on August 16 for a term concurrent with that of the president, succeeding Rafael ALBUQUERQUE De Castro (Dominican Liberation Party).

The Country

The Dominican Republic occupies the eastern two-thirds of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles