• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Chile
República de Chile

Political Status: Independent republic since 1818; present constitution approved September 11, 1980 (in effect from March 11, 1981), partially superseding military regime instituted in 1973; fully effective as of March 11, 1990.

Area: 292,256 sq. mi. (756,945 sq. km).

Population: 17,619,708 (2014E—UN); 17,363,894 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2012E): SANTIAGO (4,963,000), Puente Alto (573,935), Antofagasta (380,695), Viña del Mar (289,970), Valparaíso (253,580), Concepción (224,286).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Peso (market rate October 1, 2014: 596.25 pesos = $1US).

President: Michelle BACHELET (New Majority) elected in runoff balloting on December 15, 2013; succeeding Sebastián PIÑERA Echenique (Coalition for Change—National Renovation); elected in runoff balloting on January 17, 2010, and inaugurated on March 11 for a four-year term, succeeding Michelle Bachelet (Socialist Party of Chile).

The Country

Occupying a narrow ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles