• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Bulgaria
Republika Balgariya

Political Status: Communist constitution of May 18, 1971, substantially modified on April 3, 1990; present name adopted November 15, 1990; current democratic constitution adopted July 12, 1991.

Area: 42,823 sq. mi. (110,912 sq. km).

Population: 7,166,922 (2012E—UN); 6,924,716 (2014E—U.S Census). More than 900,000 Bulgarians have emigrated since 1989.

Major Urban Centers (2012E): SOFIA (1,241,000), Plovdiv (339,000), Varna (335,000), Bourgas (211,000), Ruse (150,000).

Official Language: Bulgarian.

Monetary Unit: Lev (market rate October 1, 2014: 1.55 leva = $1US). The lev is pegged to the euro, which Bulgaria hopes to adopt as its official currency, at the rate of 1.95583 leva = 1 euro.

President: Rosen Plevneliev (elected as the candidate of the Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria [GERB], from which he resigned following his election); sworn in for ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles