• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Botswana

Political Status: Independent republic within the Commonwealth since September 30, 1966.

Area: 231,804 sq. mi. (600,372 sq. km).

Population: 2,024,904 (2011C); 2,155,784 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): GABORONE (213,000), Francistown (91,000), Molepolole (64,000), Selebi-Pikwe (54,000).

Official Language: English (SeTswana is widely spoken).

Monetary Unit: Pula (official rate October 1, 2014: 9.47 pula = $1US).

President: Lt. Gen. (Ret.) Seretse Khama Ian KHAMA (Botswana Democratic Party); elevated (as constitutionally ordained) from the vice presidency to the presidency on April 1, 2008, to succeed President Festus MOGAE (Botswana Democratic Party), who had retired the same day; sworn in for a five-year term on October 20, 2009, after his mandate was renewed by the National Assembly following the legislative elections on October 16; sworn in for another five-year term on October ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles