• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Plurinational State of Bolivia
Estado Plurinacional de Bolivia

Political Status: Independent republic proclaimed 1825; civilian government reestablished in October 1982 after virtually constant military rule since September 1969; present constitution promulgated on February 7, 2009.

Area: 424,162 sq. mi. (1,098,581 sq. km).

Population: 10,671,200 (2013E—UN); 10,631,486 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2008): LA PAZ (administrative capital, 877,363), Sucre (judicial capital, 307,000), Santa Cruz (1,719,100), Cochabamba (900,414), Oruro (264,683).

Official Languages: Spanish, Aymará, Quechua (Aymará and Quechua were adopted as official languages in 1977).

Monetary Unit: Boliviano (market rate October 1, 2014: 6.91 bolivianos = $1US).

President: Juan Evo MORALES Ayma (Movement to Socialism); elected December 18, 2005, and inaugurated January 22, 2006, for a five-year term, succeeding Interim President Eduardo RODRÍGUEZ Veltsé (Nonparty); reelected December 6, 2009, in early elections after a constitutional ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles