• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Kingdom of Bhutan

Political Status: Independent parliamentary monarchy; first formal constitution adopted June 2, 2008.

Area: 18,147 sq. mi. (47,000 sq. km).

Population: 764,001 (2014E—UN); 733,643 (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2011E): THIMPHU (99,000, district).

Official Language: Dzongkha.

Monetary Unit: Ngultrum (official rate October 1, 2014: 61.65 ngultrum = $1US). The ngultrum is at par with the Indian rupee, which circulates freely within the country.

Monarch: Dasho Jigme Khesar Namgyel WANGCHUK; proclaimed king (Druk Gyalpo) on December 14, 2006, upon the voluntary abdication of his father, Jigme Singye WANGCHUK; crowned as constitutional monarch on November 6, 2008.

Prime Minister: Tshering TOBGAY (People’s Democratic Party); elected by his party on July 19, 2013, following the National Assembly election of July 13; assumed office on July 25, succeeding Jigme Yoser THINLEY (Bhutan Peace and Prosperity ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles