• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Kingdom of Belgium
Koninkrijk België (Dutch)
Royaume de Belgique (French)
Königreich Belgien (German)

Political Status: Independence proclaimed October 4, 1830; monarchical constitution of 1831 most recently revised in 1970.

Area: 11,781 sq. mi. (30,513 sq. km).

Population: 11,200,100 (2014E—UN); 10,449,361. (2014E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2014E): BRUSSELS (urban area, 1,163,486), Antwerp (urban area, 510,610), Ghent (251,133), Charleroi (202,730), Liège (196,291), Bruges (117,377), Namur (110,665).

Official Languages: Dutch, French, German.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 1, 2014: 0.79 euro = $1US).

Sovereign: King PHILIPPE; ascended the throne on July 21, 2013, following the abdication of his father, King ALBERT II.

Heir to the Throne: Princess ELISABETH, daughter of the king.

Prime Minister: Charles Michel (Socialist); appointed by the king on October 7, 2014, and sworn in on October 10, 2014, to succeed Elio Di Rupo, following the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles