Kingdom of Belgium

Koninkrijk België (Dutch)

Royaume de Belgique (French)

Königreich Belgien (German)

Political Status: Independence proclaimed October 4, 1830; monarchical constitution of 1831 most recently revised in 1970.

Area: 11,781 sq. mi. (30,513 sq. km).

Population: 11,139,100 (2013E—UN); 10,444,268 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2013E): BRUSSELS (urban area, 1,139,000), Antwerp (urban area, 502,000), Ghent (248,000), Charleroi (204,000), Liège (196,000), Bruges (117,000), Namur (110,000).

Official Languages: Dutch, French, German.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 1, 2013: 0.74 euro = $1US).

Sovereign: King PHILLIPPE; ascended the throne on July 21, 2013, following the abdication of his father, King ALBERT II.

Heir to the Throne: Princess ELISABETH, daughter of the king.

Prime Minister: Elio Di RUPO (Socialist); appointed by the king on December 5, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles