United Nations: Specialized Agencies

The United Nations has designated 16 organizations as Specialized Agencies, 13 of which are discussed here. This edition of the Handbook does not include separate articles on the UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), or 2 agencies whose activities are largely technical: the Universal Postal Union (UPU), which traces its origins to the 1874 Treaty Concerning the Establishment of a General Postal Union (the Berne Treaty), and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), successor to the International Meteorological Organization (founded in 1878). Appendix C lists the members of all 16 Specialized Agencies.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

Established: By constitution signed in Quebec, Canada, October 16, 1945. The FAO became a UN Specialized Agency by agreement with the Economic and Social ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles