Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)

Established: By treaty signed June 18, 1981, in Basseterre, St. Kitts, effective July 4, 1981.

Purpose: The Mission of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States is to be a Center of Excellence contributing to the sustainable development of OECS Member States by supporting their strategic insertion into the global economy while maximizing the benefits accruing from their collective space.

Headquarters: Castries, St. Lucia.

Principal Organs: Authority of Heads of Government of the Member States, OECS Assembly, Council of Ministers, Economic Affairs Council, and the OECS Commission.

Web site:

Director General: Dr. Len Ishmael (St. Lucia).

Membership (7): Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Associate Members (2): Anguilla, British Virgin ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles