Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Economique (OCDE)

Established: By convention signed December 14, 1960, in Paris, France, effective September 30, 1961.

Purpose: “To help member countries promote economic growth, employment, and improved standards of living through the coordination of policy [and] . . . to help promote the sound and harmonious development of the world economy and improve the lot of the developing countries, particularly the poorest.”

Headquarters: Paris, France.

Principal Organs: Council (all full members plus the European Commission), Executive Committee (14 members), Economic Policy Committee, Development Assistance Committee, Secretariat.

Web site:

Secretary General: Ángel Gurría (Mexico).

Membership (34): Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles