Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

República Bolivariana de Venezuela

Political Status: Independence originally proclaimed in 1821 as part of Gran Colombia; independent republic established in 1830; federal constitutional system restored in 1958. Current constitution approved by referendum on December 15, 1999.

Area: 358,850 sq. mi. (916,445 sq. km).

Population: 27,229,930 (2011C); 29,718,357 (2013E—UN); 28,459,085 (2013E—U.S. Census).


Major Urban Centers (2011E): CARACAS (1,942,652), Maracaibo (1,898,700), Valencia (1,380,000), Barquisimeto (936,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Bolívar (market rate November 1, 2013: 6.29 bolívares fuertes = $1US). [Note: devalued February 2013.]

President: Nicolás MADURO (United Socialist Party of Venezuela) inaugurated on April 19, 2013, for a five-year term, following the death of Lt. Col. (Ret.) Hugo Rafael CHÁVEZ Frías (United ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles