Republic of Uzbekistan

Ozbekiston Respublikasi

Political Status: Eastern portion of Turkistan Soviet Socialist Republic detached on October 27, 1924, to form Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic within the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (RSFSR); became constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) on May 12, 1925; declared independence as Republic of Uzbekistan on August 31, 1991; present constitution adopted on December 8, 1992.

Area: 172,740 sq. mi. (447,400 sq. km).


Population: 28,337,880 (2012E—UN); 28,661,637 (2013E—US Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011E—UN): TASHKENT (2,137,218), Namangan (391,297), Samarkand (361,339), Andijan (338,366).

Official Language: Uzbek. Russian remains the principal everyday language.

Monetary Unit: Uzbekistani som (market rate November 1, 2013: 2,173.96 som = $1US).

President: Islam A. KARIMOV ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles