Timor-Leste (East Timor)

Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste

República Democrática de Timor-Leste

Political Status: Independent republic established May 20, 2002; constitution approved by Constituent Assembly on March 22, 2002.

Area: 5,641 sq. mi. (14,609 sq. km).

Population: 1,219,992 (2012E—UN); 1,172,390 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center: (2010—Timor-Leste Census) Dili 228,559.

Official Languages: Portuguese, Tetum. A majority of Timorese are fluent in Bahasa Indonesia (a form of Malay); both it and English are “working languages.”

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see U.S. entry for principal exchange rates).

President: José Maria VASCONCELOS, popularly known as Taur Matan RUAK) elected by popular vote on April 16, 2012; sworn in for a five-year term on May 20, succeeding José RAMOS-HORTA.

Prime Minister: Kay Rala Xanana (José Alexandre) GUSMÃO (leader of the National Congress ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles