Republic of Singapore

Xinjiapo Gongheguo (Chinese)

Republik Singapura (Malay)

Singapur Kutiyarasu (Tamil)

Political Status: Attained self-rule within the British Commonwealth June 3, 1959; joined in formation of Malaysia on September 16, 1963; independent republic since August 9, 1965.

Area: 246 sq. mi. (636 sq. km), including adjacent islets that encompass some 15 sq. mi. (39 sq. km).

Population: 5,259,252 (2012E—UN); 5,460,302 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2011E): SINGAPORE (5,183,700).

Official Languages: Chinese (Mandarin is the preferred form), English, Malay, Tamil.

Monetary Unit: Singapore Dollar (market rate November 1, 2013: 1.24 dollars = $1US).

President: Tony TAN Keng Yam (nonparty); declared president-elect on August 27, 2011; inaugurated on September 1 for a six-year term, following presidential elections on August 27, 2011, succeeding Sellapan Ramanathan ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles