Republic of Serbia

Republika Srbija

Political Status: Incorporated in the Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes, which was constituted as an independent monarchy on December 1, 1918, and formally renamed Yugoslavia on October 3, 1929; became constituent republic of the communist Federal People’s Republic of Yugoslavia, instituted November 29, 1945, and then of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, proclaimed April 7, 1963; continued as constituent republic, along with Montenegro, of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY), proclaimed April 27, 1992; included in the “state union” of Serbia and Montenegro, established February 4, 2003, under new Constitutional Charter; proclaimed as the independent Republic of Serbia on June 5, 2006, following Montenegro’s declaration of independence on June 3; currently governed under new constitution ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles