Russian Federation/Russia

Rossiiskaya Federatsiya/Rossiya

Political Status: Formerly the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (RSFSR), a constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR); present official designations adopted on April 17, 1992; current constitution approved by referendum of December 12, 1993.

Area: 6,592,800 sq. mi. (17,075,400 sq. km).

Population: 146,946,522 (2012E—UN); 142,500,000 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2010E): MOSCOW (11,514,000), St. Petersburg (formerly Leningrad, 4,849,000), Novosibirsk (1,474,000), Yekaterinburg (formerly Sverdlovsk, 1,350,000), Nizhny Novgorod (formerly Gorky, 1,251,000), Samara (formerly Kuibyshev, 1,165,000), Omsk (1,154,000), Rostov-na-Donu (1,090,000), Volgograd (1,021,000), Vladivostok (592,000).

Official Languages: Russian, in addition to languages recognized by the constituent republics and autonomous areas.

Monetary Unit: Ruble (official rate November 1, 2013: 32.39 rubles = $1US).

President: Vladimir PUTIN (United Russia); elected on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles