Republic of Panama

República de Panamá

Political Status: Became independent of Spain as part of Colombia (New Granada) in 1819; independent republic proclaimed on November 3, 1903; present constitution, adopted on September 13, 1972, substantially revised on April 24, 1983.

Area: 29,208 sq. mi. (75,650 sq. km).

Population: 3,672,384 (2012E—UN); 3,559,408 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2010E): PANAMA (also known as Panama City, 894,565), San Miguelito (373,703).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Balboa (official rate November 1, 2013: 1.00 balboa = $1US). The balboa is at par with the U.S. dollar, which is also acceptable as legal tender.

President: Ricardo MARTINELLI Berrocal (Democratic Change Party); elected on May 3, 2009, and inaugurated on July 1 for a five-year term, succeeding Martín TORRIJOS Espino ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles