St. Maarten

Country of Saint Maarten

Land Sint Maarten

Political Status: Former Dutch dependency; from 1948 a component of the Netherlands Antilles, which became autonomous in internal affairs, under charter of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, effective December 29, 1954; achieved separate autonomous status in internal affairs upon dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles on October 10, 2010.

Area: 13.1 sq. mi. (34 sq. km).

Population: 43,000 (2010E—UN), 39,689 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2010E): PHILIPSBURG (1,228), Lower Prince’s Quarters (8,123).

Official Languages: Dutch and English.

Monetary Unit: Netherlands Antilles Guilder (official rate November 1, 2013: 1.79 guilders = $1US). The guilder is pegged to the U.S. dollar. A new Caribbean guilder, likewise pegged to the dollar, is to be introduced jointly by St. Maarten and ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles