Kingdom of Morocco

al-Mamlakat al-Maghribiyah

Political Status: Independent since March 2, 1956; constitutional monarchy established in 1962; present constitution approved by referendum on July 1, 2011.

Area: 274,461 sq. mi. (710,850 sq. km), including approximately 97,343 sq. mi. (252,120 sq. km) of Western Sahara, two-thirds of which was annexed in February 1976 and the remaining one-third claimed upon Mauritanian withdrawal in August 1979.

Population: 32,873,714 (2012E—UN); 32,649,130 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2007E—UN): RABAT (1,654,000), Casablanca (2,995,000), Fez (1,026,000), Marrakesh (1,126,000), Oujda (489,000).

Official Languages: Arabic and Tamazight.

Monetary Unit: Dirham (official rate November 1, 2013: 8.31 dirhams = $1US).

Sovereign: King MOHAMED VI became king on July 23, 1999, following the death of his father, HASSAN II.

Heir to the Throne: Crown ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles