Republic of Mauritius

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy under multiparty parliamentary system established upon independence within the Commonwealth on March 12, 1968; became a republic on March 12, 1992.

Area: 790 sq. mi. (2,045 sq. km).

Population: 1,332,432 (2012E—UN); 1,322,238 (2013E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2011E—UN): PORT LOUIS (148,638), Beau Bassin/Rose Hill (110,687), Vacoas-Phoenix (108,186).

Official Language: English (French is also used, while Creole is the lingua franca and Hindi the most widely spoken).

Monetary Unit: Mauritian rupee (official rate November 1, 2013: 30.50 rupees = $1US).

President: Rajkeswur PURRYAG (Mauritius Labour Party); elected by the National Assembly on July 20, 2012, for a five-year term, to succeed acting president Monique Ohsan BELLEPEAU after Sir Anerood JUGNAUTH (Mauritian Socialist Movement) resigned on March 31, 2012.

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles